Perfect Guacamole

Everyone thinks they have the best recipe for guacamole.  People brag, kitchen knives get drawn, and like the fight between the French and the Italians over the origin of great cuisine, it can be one messy battle.  However I do have one heck of a recipe which includes my once secret, soon to be known ingredient.  A recipe adapted from my best friend’s recipe, which was straight from her family in Mexico, so I’m talking some lip-smackin’ green goodness.

Ingredients:

two ripe avocados (they should be soft to the touch without being bruised or dented–if you are in doubt double check with your grocer–the best guacamole comes from perfectly ripe avocados)

The juice of one lime (cut in half and squeeze with your palm, one half at a time)

1 T minced red onion (optional--sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t)

1 T chopped fresh cilantro

1 T minced jalapeno–optional (remove seeds)–fresh or pickled (optional for added heat:  I use pickled because it is easy to store in my refrigerator and I usually have a jar handy)

1/4 cup sm. diced tomatoes (vine tomatoes are the best–get very ripe but not mushy tomatoes–they should be just as fresh and perfect as the avocados)

1 tsp salt (I love sea salt/kosher salt) this can be added at the end to taste

1/2 cup green salsa **tomatillo salsa (my quick and delicious shortcut to pureed fresh tomatillo and hot peppers–which can be slightly soupy)  Goya makes an excellent version called salsa verde as does Trader Joe’s.  Trust me, I have hooked many people on this product. It is fabulous in marinades, great in Mexican food, and a perfect boost to many entrees (including a wonderful baked chicken breast recipe I served for a private client).  This ingredient is so good that simply having it around you don’t necessarily need the fresh cilantro or even the onions.

Instructions:

halve the avocados and remove the flesh into a medium sized bowl (some people save the pit and add it to the dish to prevent browning–for consistency– I discard the pit and allow the lime juice to maintain color).

mash the avocados until even in consistency–no large chunks but not quite whipped.

add the salsa verde/tomatillo salsa.  squeeze in half the lime and taste.  (depending on the ripeness of the avocados, half a lime may due.  I usually use the full lime however–suit it to your taste–you don’t want a lime flavor you just want the acidity)

next add the minced onion, tomato, jalapeno (optional), and cilantro.  Cilantro should be washed thoroughly to remove all grit.  (submerge cilantro into three progressive bowls of water until after tasting one leaf you detect no grit/dirt).

Mix all ingredients thoroughly and salt to taste.

I love to use blue corn chips with my guacamole.  They are very savory and I love the color contrast.  This recipe can easily be doubled or tripled because in my experience–it is a party favorite and you can never have enough.

4 thoughts on “Perfect Guacamole

  1. Pingback: Seafood Tacos with Pico de Gallo and Fresh Guacamole « Cooking with Aurora

  2. Pingback: fajita boat salad « Cooking with Aurora

  3. Pingback: 3 Bean Salad…a beach journey « Cooking with Aurora

  4. Pingback: First in 10 (seven layer dip plus 3!) « Cooking with Aurora

Leave a Reply

