Red Berry, White Chocolate Scones

Red Berry and White Chocolate Scones

(Makes 16 scones)

This recipe is my Mother’s (with the change of the fruit and the addition of the chocolate).  Buttermilk is what makes it! These puppies are the best brunch treat, mid-morning snack, or gift basket addition. 

Ingredients:

3 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup butter (room temp)

2 T grated citrus peel (I used orange)

3/4 cup fresh raspberries

1/4 cup chopped fresh strawberries

3/4 cup white chocolate chips/chunks/pieces

1 cup buttermilk

In  a large bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.  Mix in butter using your fingers (yep–get right in there) until the mixture is crumbly.  Using your fingers really gets the texture right and gets you in the nitty gritty of cooking.

Add citrus zest, berries, and white chocolate.  Stir gently (trying not to crush and muddle the raspberries as best you can–you’ll mush some of them–no worries.  Finish by adding the buttermilk and stirring until the dough is just mixed.  Don’t over mix or you won’t get the same result.

Gather the dough into two balls and place onto a floured surface.  Pat out each ball into a round and cut each round into 8 pie shaped wedges.  Repeat on second ball and place wedges on a parchment-lined cooking sheet (the parchment really makes for a nicer cleanup).

Bake 15-18 minutes or until golden brown on top.  Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Red Berry, White Chocolate Scones

  1. Hey quick question!
    Does buttermilk = glaze: 2 T milk/cream?
    How do you do it? Or should I just go and buy butter milk?
    Also, I’m assuming the 2tbs of granulated sugar is to spinkle on the scones when they are fully done?

    Thank you for your help!

    • Hey,
      I love buttermilk. It is just super creamy and delicious. I know that leaves you with a bunch of extra buttermilk but then you can make a salad dressing or fried chicken :). 2T granulated sugar are for sprinkling- sorry I missed the clarification on that.

      • Also, how much buttersmilk should I put? there’s no mesureaments…
        Plus, for the glaze, is it just 2T milk/cream? Nothing else, no sugar or anything… I don’t see the how to in here!

        I don’t want to sound annoying, I’m just an un experience baker!

    • Hey,
      I am so sorry about that post. I was pretty knew to blogging when I had posted that. I went back in and added measurements and hopefully clearer directions 🙂
      Best,
      Aurora

    • 400 is fine for your oven. It is a very short baking time and you only need to preheat until your oven reads the correct temp. On my oven it only takes about 15 min to preheat.

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

